Small Space Design Requires a Keen Eye

I’ve moved a lot.  In fact, I haven’t kept the same address for more than two consecutive years since I was in high school.  While I’m not going to confess my age, I will say that it’s been several years since I graduated from college, for the second time.  So, what does this have to do with office interior design?

Well, if I’ve learned anything from all this moving it’s that your home space should be functional, just as your office should be.  And, all to often, we aren’t given a lot of room to work with.  From my very first studio apartment, I’ve learned many home decorating tips that easily transfer into the office design world.  The key is to treat small space design with a keen eye so your office looks and feels just right.  Here are a few tips:

  • Keep your furniture away from the walls: Small spaces have a tendency to make us want to push everything against the wall so that we can promote a more open environment.  Guess what?  The opposite happens; soon, you’ll begin feeling like the walls are closing in on you.
  • Divide space creatively: Many offices don’t have the luxury of giving each individual his or her own office.  That’s okay.  Contemporary modular walls can give your office a permanent look while dividing space where you need it most.
Modular Furniture

Modular Furniture

  • Remember that size does matter: In many small space designs we often see the overuse of small furniture.  Of course we don’t want to overcrowd our office area with a desk that’s way too big for the space, but be leery of going too small as well.  Buy furniture that fits both the space and the workload.  And, don’t forget that adjustable tables and monitor stands might work best to save space and still provide the functionality you need.
1 Comment

  1. Good tips. I have heard that for small spaces, it works if you have at least one large piece of furniture. I hadn’t heard the tip about keeping furniture off the walls. I wonder why that works?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

